Solace Seeker E​.​P.

by Hart Lake Mystery

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




Recorded in two days in Minneapolis at Triple T Studios, August 2012. Produced and Mastered by Elliot Hilton. Engineered by Chad Wheeling. Art Direction by Gabriel Welker.

Alternative pop rock band based in Minneapolis, and powered by the “sublime pop stylings” (Pulse of the Twin Cities) of songwriter Elliot Hilton.

"A fine, catchy track. Smart lyrics + rockin' guitars = diggin' it." - Jon Auer of The Posies

"If you're a 'Mats, Tommy Keene, Tommy Stinson, or any sort of pop-rock fan at all, Hart Lake Mystery is right up your alley. This five-song EP digs down deep to find the best of their best, and a doozy it is. Kicking off with the gruff yet loveable “Sunny All The Time,” the band immediately sets the pace for the entire EP with wisdom-inflected lyrics and to-die-for instrumentation.

Hilton is beyond talented- he's gifted and happily human in his work, and that's what makes for a great pop artist, hands down."
-'Round The Dial Magazine

"...neatly crafted powerpop that knows enthusiasm and good tunes will always defeat pretentiousness and perfectionism. Think Big Star, think Teenage Fanclub, think Guided By Voices." - The Sound Of Confusion

"...melodic with catchy pop hooks. When “Sunny All The Time” starts, it’s clear Hart Lake Mystery knows know to write smart and listenable songs." - Rift Magazine

"...a winning track..." - Popdose review of the song "Solace Seeker". Featured in the article "The Ultimate Power Pop Roundup - 10 Essential Bands"

"Minneapolis is home to a disproportionate number of killer bands. You can add the power pop of Hart Lake Mystery to that list." - Snob's Music

"Cranky guitar hooks put the bite in this 2012 power pop gem." - Review of "Sunny All The Time" by Fix It In The Mix.

"Indie pop rock star Elliot Hilton's sound is influenced by the likes of The Replacements, Brian Wilson, The Beatles, Big Star, Elliott Smith and Matthew Sweet." - Northfield Patch


released August 18, 2012

Elliot Hilton: Vocals, guitars, piano
Gabriel Welker: Drums, backing vocals
Nick (NJ) Johnson: Guitars
John Laberda: Bass



all rights reserved


Hart Lake Mystery Minneapolis, Minnesota

contact / help

Contact Hart Lake Mystery

Streaming and
Download help